What Happened to K-mart? A letter to Customer Service

I would like to share my experiences that my family and I received at your Somers Point, NJ K-mart (store #9463). My family and I frequent your Somers Point store, and become aware of the poor Customer Service and lack of knowledgeable employees. Especially, on the days we decided to purchase merchandise.

On April 14th of this year, after looking at your Sunday advertisement, my father and I visited your store to purchase a boys bike (receipt# 09463 041408 005 75442). No one was available in the sporting goods department to lend us a hand and we had to walk to the customer service desk and ask for assistance on three separate occasions. Forty minutes later help arrived, but he was not very knowledgeable. We asked him about the cost of the bike, the quality of assembly, and the return policy. He referred us to customer service to get our answers and they told us to talk to someone in sporting goods. We went back and forth between customer service and sporting goods. It took three frustrating hours to purchase a $79.99 bike that, as we found out later, was poorly assembled. Two weeks later, as my nephew was trying to stop the bike, the rear brakes broke. A week later, and after a couple of scrapped knees, the front brakes went. The bike was too unsafe to ride. If buying the bike was a hassle, exchanging the bike would be worse. Therefore, we decided to take the bike to the local bike shop rather than go through the customer service hell at K-mart. It cost us $30 to get the brakes fixed, nearly half of what the bike originally cost.

Even after that awful experience on May 11th my mother and I returned to K-mart to purchase a bike for my five-year-old niece. We were looking at 16″ girl bikes with training wheels. Again, there was no one available in the sporting goods department, and I had to walk to the customer service desk and ask for help twice. The bike we were looking at, (item# 02891401954 $79.99, receipt# 09463 051108 026 68437) required assembly and had no price tag. Fifteen minutes later an employee, John, showed up in a red, dirty un-tucked K-mart shirt. He did not have a clue and behaved as if we were bothering him; he impatiently took out his cell phone to text someone and instructed us to take the bike to customer service for a price check. While waiting for him to get off his cell phone, I impatiently carried the boxed bike to the broken price scanner in the sporting goods department. After slapping the scanner, like an old television set, it began to buzz and beep and few seconds later displayed the price of the bike. Again, I asked about the cost of assembly and the bored employee called someone to find the answer. He told us the assembly would be free and Randy, K-marts bike assembler, would be in on Tuesday to put it together. Frustrated, I carried the bike to customer service and spoke to Nicole: the cashier. I told her that we wanted the bike assembled and began to haggle about the promised free assembly. We bought the bike and left it to be assembled.

I called Kmart on Wednesday to find out if the bike was ready and was told that the assembler would not be in until Thursday and to call back to speak to him then. I called on Thursday but there was no answer. I decided to visit K-mart to find out if the bike was ready: it was not. Randy, the bike assembler, did not show-up that day and would be in on the next day (Friday) I was told that the bike would be ready on Saturday. I returned on Saturday, May 17th, to pick up the bike, and spent two hours trying to get someone to check to see if the bike was ready. After all that frustration, the bike was poorly put together. The seat and the handlebars were off center and after just a few hours of use, the training wheels became bent. To get the training wheels replaced would cost $18 + labor to fix at the bike shop.

Does K-mart want our business? What happened? K-mart used to be a fun and convenient place to shop. It was more pleasant and took less time at the DMV then it takes to buy merchandise from your store. I attempted to have the cost of repair of my nephews bike reimbursed to me, but was told that I should have tried to have K-mart fix the problem. Do you blame me for not wanting to spend hours of be ignored at your store? Know I have a 5 yr old sad that she cannot ride her bike, she does not understand that her bike is unsafe for her to ride. My family and I agree not to shop at K-mart again. Do you blame us? The sad part is that you (KMART) will not do anything to rectify the situation. You will not respond to my complaint, and not even attempt to win me back.

Sincerely a disappointed ex-customer of K-mart.

Repsonse from K-mart

Dear Mr. Eulo,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your experience with one of our stores. We are always interested in hearing from our customers, but regret it was this type of situation that prompted you to contact us. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you may have encountered due to the customer service experiences you encountered at our Somers Point store.

We have forwarded your message to the Store Coach. They will contact you within two (2) business days.

Once again, thank you for contacting us.

Dennis H.
Kmart.com Customer Care
1-866-562-7848

6 thoughts on “What Happened to K-mart? A letter to Customer Service

  1. Kmart was always the store to go to for all our family needs. we find it funny and sad at the same time, that a store that was so respected is now not worth visiting. Me and my wife went to get the kids school supplies, the store looks like its going out of business, when we got to the register 1/4 of our stuff was mis-priced and labeled wrong, the cashier was really rude and annoyed, we went back for price checks 4 times. We are officially done with kmart stores, your employees have such a dislike for the store and no respect for the customers. that the second store in Vegas that we went to, which is why I’m writing today.. Kmart has lost all customer loyalty and its easy to see why Kmart stores wont be around much longer as with the Ame’s and other like you, but to finish telling you about our visit today, after our 4th price check we left the kart and all the school supplies we grab, we drove to Walmart purchased everything we needed for the kids and encountered No Problems going in purchasing or leaving, as always painless. Kmart should close its doors as soon as possible and cut your losses cause at the rate the stores are being managed, you wont be in business much longer.

  2. I had a similar situation one Christmas at a Super Kmart in Greensboro, NC. I ended up going across the street to Wal-Mart to make my Christmas purchase.

    I got the same form letter in response to my complaint. Nobody ever attempted to call me (to my knowledge).

    Kmart is an icon of yesteryear. Their day has come and gone. I never went there again. Now we live in Texas and all the Kmart stores in the Austin and Houston areas have closed.

    Sadly, I worked for Kmart in its heyday. It really was a fun place and a proud company. Then the mismanagement started with Ben Fauber, who wanted to turn it into a high-class store with prices to match (his wife said she had never shopped in a Kmart & he was the Chairman of the Board) and continued to the jackinapes of an excuse for an executive Joe Antoninni who drove the company to destruction.

    Antoninni has much to answer for. Hopefully he is dead and enjoying his just rewards now.

    Now that once proud company is nothing but a junk store.

  3. John, showed up in a red, dirty un-tucked K-mart shirt….

    you try working there! it isn’t a pleasant job with understaffed/low payed employees

    1. Hi,
      I would like to comment here. I UNDERSTAND your position. YES, YES, YES.. while those in management get their perks, the people who need jobs get absolutely NOTHING to hope for, clean up for, or even something to WORK towards.

      I just emailed Kmart for horrific treatment I got from a woman who worked there. I am going to file a lawsuit against them. Details not necessary here.

      BUT what happened to me from a customer was uncalled for also. I know Kmart and Walmart treats their employees like ‘chit under thier shoes’ .. but

      I am disabled and was so badly abused there that 3 days later I am still not able to unwind from the awefulness that transpired.

      ITS TIME………PEOPLE……………..
      TO STAND UP.. ITS NOW TO THE POINT WHERE THE RUBBER MEETS THE ROAD……
      WALK OUT OF THE CORPORATE STORES, BOTH AS CUSTOMERS AND EMPLOYEES ALIKE.

      BELIEVE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE…
      THEY WANT YOUR $$$$$$ AND YOUR BACKBONES MUCH MORE THAN WE NEED THEM.

      STAND UP AND BE COUNTED.

  4. i bought a 27 in bike from the jackson mi. k mart and -when i rode it in the parking lot , the peddle fell off and i fell against the handle bar, hard. the threads are reverse, and the person that put it together had one thread tight on both sides. check your bike before riding.

  5. Oh my i have been reading Kmart. Complaints online! all dayI had a horrible experience with both sears and Kmart . I was on phone with them a full stressful day!

    First sears I was online trying to purchase a comforter! But couldn’t check out because the size and color option kept freezing so I called sears! One poor English speaking person couldn’t find an item number and couldn’t find the picture of the item!!!
    Here I am on my ipad with the comforter I’m trying to buy on my screen! But he couldn’t find it. Than I called back after I got cut off and a lady answers and she too couldn’t find the item I’m accessing online. Their website! Hello are these people trained!

    Now for my latest experience with Kmart!
    I ordered a watch online! Paid 15.99 for next day delivery! It didn’t arrive so I go online and see it was not delivered because the adress was not correct! So
    I called Kmart! They put me on hold! Came back told me that she checked their shipping dept and blamed ups ! She says to me ! We don’t make labels for shipping ! Ups does its their fault! So I hang up call ups ! They were about to return it! I had twenty five minutes to get to ups to pick up my item!

    So when I get to ups driving like a maniac on crack to get there before they close or my item will be returned!
    Ups shows me the shipping label that Kmarts shipping department put on my package! Clearly it was Kmarts shipping. That made the mistake! I return home! To call Kmart to speak to a supervisor ! When I FINALY got a rep! She asks me a few questions than all of a sudden the call was dropped! Again I call same thing! So I go online to their chat and twice two different reps asked a few questions! And ended the chat! Soon by this time my blood pressure is about to go thru the roof! So I call againnnnn and this time I get a nice rep who DIDNT hang up on me! And unlike the other reps that DIDNT call back but deliberately ended the call.id like to know how I can get a job like theirs! Do nothing and get paid!
    Well anyways I FINALY get a supervisor she submits for a refund of my shipping fees and added 10%discount on my next purchase. I only hope I get my refund! She did send me an email !

    Ok so like a fool I guess I hadn’t been tortured enough! So I go back for more ! I decide to order something else! To get my 10% off !
    I called Kmart to inquire about my discount! They asked me a few questions and soon they ended the call! So I go on their chat twice and same thing!
    FINALY I SAID TO MYSELF THAT’S IT WITH SEARS IM DONE,, BACK TO RELIABLE WALMART AND AMAZON WITH COMPETENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS.

    IM DONE WITH SEARS KMART.

    I think that sears Kmart CEO needs to go on that show undercover boss! They would fire every rep! And start afresh. How can we contact Kmart sears CEO
    He needs to go online and see all the complaints. The complaints all mentioned! Reps hang ups and lots of rudeness.

    I thought my case couldn’t be an isolated case! I went online and found so many horror stories and am convinced we need to boycott and do a petition! Lets get the CEOs attention! We need respect.
    I’d like to challenge these CEOs to go online and pleaseeeee read all the complaints! Care about your customers! Without good customer service reps you will loose a lot of business. Train them but do something.

Leave a Reply

