Response to “Letter from Birmingham Jail.”

    After reading Mr. King’s letter to the clergyman, I find in my soul a deeper respect for him. While reading I transcended time, space, and ethnicity and understanding. I felt and experienced the segregation that he felt through his words. Mr. King was a powerful communicator. Before reading this letter I was oblivious to the reality of the black man in America. I have a deeper understanding of the heartache that African Americans experienced at the hands of ignorant whites. Although I will never feel or experience the type of hatred that was and is felt by African Americans then and now, I have a deeper understanding of the how they feel.

Leave a Reply

