Poker Faced

I flew to Las Vegas solo; I sold everything so I could to bet it all in a poker game, my chances of winning was greater at poker then black jack. My last ditch effort to redeem myself to my friends, my family, and the two big Italian guys that wanted to break my legs. I owed them too much money; this was my only chance to pay them off and to reclaim any honor and integrity that I had left. Damn me!

I prayed to the poker gods that they would grant me good cards and enough wisdom and luck to play them. I had been practicing my poker face the moment sin city invaded my thoughts, but it’s difficult, and I am emotional. Damn me!

As I looked out the window over the wing of the plane I could see the lights of the strip, the MGM grand, the Luxor… this was the first time I’ve been to Vegas and I hopefully my last. I don’t know if it was the stale peanuts or the thoughts of the punishment that will be inflicted on me if I lose, that gave me so much heartburn, so I starting popping Tums in my mouth like they were tick tacks. The butterflies in my stomach made me vomit as we landed. Bits of peanuts and strawberry Tums stained the dress of the little old lady that sat next to me “Sorry ma’am” I said as I attempted to wipe off the vomit from her dress, “get your hands off of me, you fuckin asshole!” she yelled. Great, I only have been in Vegas for five minutes and I am already making friends! Damn me!

Leave a Reply

